## EXTRACT FROM THE .DOCTORATE REGULATIONS OF THE FACULTY OF COMPUTER SCIENCE FROM 7th JANUARY, 1999

## Art. 6 The Reviewers

- (1) For judgement of the doctoral thesis, the Faculty Council appoints at least three reviewers. One of them has to belong to the faculty as a professor. One of them should not be a member of the Otto-von-Guericke University.
- (2) For the assessment may be appointed:
- staff members of the faculty under Art. 1, sec. 4
- visiting and honorary professors
- professors emerit. or
- PhD holders experienced in practical research and teaching.
- (3) The members of the Otto-von-Guericke University appointed as experts, may deny their agreement to the appointment owing to important reasons only.

## Art. 7 Review Report

- (1) Every reviewer submits a review report<sup>1</sup> on the thesis suggesting its acceptance or rejection. Provided, acceptance is recommended, the thesis will be assessed according to the following scale:
- very good (magna cum laude)
- good (cum laude)
- satisfactory (rite)
- (2) A thesis recommended for rejection is to assess with unsatisfactory (non sufficit).
- (3) Every reviewer prepares a written review report within at most three months recommending the acceptance or rejection of the doctoral thesis. In case, a review report does not arrive in time, the Faculty Council may determine a new reviewer. The reviewing experts are entitled to keep their copy of the thesis to be assessed.

## Art. 8 The Doctoral Committee

(1) The doctoral committee consists of the reviewers, the chairperson, and one more PhD holder of the faculty.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>c1</sup> Comment: comprehensive and well-founded report

- (2) The chairperson of the doctoral committee has to be a professor of the faculty. She or he must not act as a reviewing expert in the current procedure.
- (3) The members of the doctoral committee are obliged to participate in the colloquium as far as they are members of the Magdeburg University. Exceptions are permitted owing to serious reasons only.